And we’re off!

Today’s the day I head to D.C. to start my summer experience with the Dalit Freedom Network. I’m really excited (and also a little nervous) to once again have a new city to explore and tons of new people to meet and connections to make. A month ago today I returned from my semester abroad in Brussels, Belgium. I spent three weeks at home spending lots of time with my family and friends and then I spent last week in Lexington, Virginia, interning with Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society’s 49th Biennial Convention and Centennial Celebration. I had such a great week there! The weather was beautiful and everyone I met was wonderful. I spent yesterday visiting my grandparents and packing and now today I am off again!

Currently, the t.v. in this airport waiting hall is talking about a heat wave currently going on in the Northeast. Today it’s supposed to get up to 94 degrees in Washington by 3 p.m. and the newscasters just said it will feel like 99! Wow! Yesterday, I was just thinking about the fact that in the past 6 months, I have flown in airplanes more frequently then I ever had before in my life. I had the flights to and from Brussels, flights to and from Barcelona, Aix-en-Provence, and Florence. And now, I just flew to and from Lexington and now I’m flying to Washington. I’m getting to be a pro at all of the airport procedures and whatnot.

But anyways, today I’m flying into Dulles where my house director Shelley’s mom will be picking me up and transporting me to Morning Gate where I will be staying for the rest of the summer. I just have a room in a house there that is owned and rented out by the University Park Church of the Brethren. I hope that I have nice roommates! Today I just plan on getting settled and unpacked at the house and possibly trying out the metro that I will be taking every day to and from my internship since University Park is a little ways outside of downtown D.C. My actual internship is on Capitol Hill and I’m really excited to be right in the middle of all of that hustle and bustle. I joined a group on Facebook for interns in D.C. this summer and people are always posting events and conferences and things on there. Tonight there is some event at the Bipartison Policy Center called “Pizza and Policy” so I thought it might be fun to go to that and meet some people right off the bat. Tomorrow is my first day at D.F.N. and I’m really excited to see what they have in store for me for the next two months. I’m sure it will be a great learning experience and I’m really grateful for the Super Internship funding through Juniata to make this experience possible. That’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

